top of page

Exercises in Style in the classroom

Here the designer describes different methods and techniques used in comic books. He also talks about his book called 99 ways to tell a story. It is a book where each photo is told in 99 different ways, however it is the same story.

2015 marks the ten year anniversary of the first publication of 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style. It’s never been a huge bestseller but it has slowly built an international and diverse audience made up of comics fans, designers, readers of experimental literature, and educators.

Teachers in particular have been real champions of the book. I have visited many classrooms to talk about it and I occasionally receive links to projects students have done based on my book. In a recent Twitter conversation a teacher asked me how I use my book when I’m teaching. After the jump I’ll share a few ideas.

This will be a bit of a long post so here’s a table of contents of what’s up ahead: I. Further variations on my template II. Make your own template III. Build an extended project IV. For non-artists

To read on go to:


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page